Jill Dowling - English & EFL Tutor High Wycombe, Marlow, Beaconsfield, Maidenhead, Slough & Windsor


  • Up to GCSE English
  • EFL

English as a Foreign Language
English Language ks1,2,3 up to GCSE

Price and Range:
All tutoring sessions are 25 per hour per person.

Personal Information:
I teach English to a wide range of people, including children, teenagers and business people. My qualification is is CertTESOL Trinity College London, but over the years many parents have approached me asking if I can help their children whose first language is English.

I have worked for a language school, teaching groups of teenagers. The emphasis has been on learning through fun as children and teenagers have low boredom thresholds! Keeping up the pace and continually introducing key language learning points in fresh and stimulating ways really improves their English.

Being able to use English competently in both verbal and written communication is key in the workplace and I have worked with businesses to help their employees improve their skills in these areas.

With regard to students whose first language is English, I have helped many children improve their abilities in writing, reading and grammar. I have taught all age ranges from KS1 to GCSE. The classroom can become a source of anxiety for children who feel they are struggling and I am very mindful of this when tutoring. I always try to ensure that anyone I am teaching is encouraged to find their strengths as well as focus on the areas they have difficulty with.

I also have extensive experience in providing English lessons to children who are home schooled.

I use Skype or zoom as online methods of teaching if circumstances are such that we are unable to meet face to face.

Before I began teaching, I worked in counselling and business environments and these experiences have provided me with the skills to assess situations and work out the best way to help my students. I am a strong communicator and I hope that people see me as an approachable person who they can trust and speak freely to.

Listing type: Tutor

Distance travelled:
Up to 10 miles of SL7

This tutor is currently unavailable

This Tutor is not taking on any students at this time.